The Works of Oscar Wilde

Works of Oscar Wilde: Oscar Wilde has been one of the most famous writers of all time. His works have inspired a lot of others to take up writing. Originally christened as Oscar Fingal O’Flahertie Wills Wilde, he was a prolific writer from Ireland.

He has numerous poems, plays, fiction and essays to his name. He had shown his creativity and mettle in the different forms of literature.

Works of Oscar Wilde
Oscar Wilde

He had composed various pieces during the 1880s and settled into being one of London’s most popular playwrights with the start of the 1890s. He is revered for his plays, epigrams and the novel The Picture of Dorian Grey. He was imprisoned under certain circumstances and did die an immature death.

Family and Early Life of Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde was born on October 16, 1854, in Dublin, Ireland. He was the second of the three Wilde siblings, born to Sir William Wilde and Jane Wilde. Her mother was an Irish nationalist and wrote poetry for Young Irelanders under the pseudonym Speranza. Her works and the poetry from Young Irelanders gave birth to a deep love for literature that Oscar developed over the ages.

Oscar’s elder William Wilde was a leading to-ophthalmologic surgeon from Ireland and was consequently knighted in 1864 for his services. The dispensary created by William became the forerunner for the Dublin Eye and Ear Hospital.

The Works of Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde got a preliminary education at home from a French bonne as well as a German governess until the age of nine. After that, Oscar Wilde got a formal education from the Portora Royal School in Enniskillen of County Fermanagh. Wilde also had a sister named Isola who died of meningitis at a tender age of nine. Oscar had later dedicated the poem Requiescat in her memory.

Wilde attended college at the Trinity College in Dublin from 1871 to 1874. He had received the guidance of his mentor J.P. Mahaffy during this period and had also helped him write the book Social Life in Greece. Wilde also received a lot of knowledge from the University Philosophical Society, becoming an established member in a short amount of time.

Oscar was one of the outstanding students at the college and won the Berkeley Gold Medal, which was the highest academic award in Greek. He also won the demyship to Magdalen College in Oxford. Thereafter, he attended Magdalen College from 1874 to 1878.

Work by Oscar Wilde

Oscar has written volumes in terms of literature. There have been poems, novels, plays, epigrams and others. The following are the works of Wilde in their chronological order:

The Picture of Dorian Gray
The Picture of Dorian Gray
  • Ravenna (1878) – The poem has seven parts and describes a person who has landed in a city. The poem starts with memories of the country and it ends with a salute to the city.
  • Poems (1881) – The first collection of poems written by Wilde was published during this time. He visited the United States for a lecture tour in 1882. These poems served as a springboard.
  • Stories and Tales (1888) – A collection of short stories were published for children that consisted of titles like “The Nightingale and the Rose”, “The Selfish Giant”, “The Happy Prince”, “The Devoted Friend” and “The Remarkable Rocket”.
  • The Decay of Living (1889) – One of the most famous essays by Wilde, it presents two characters Vivian and Cyril engulfed in a conversation. Wilde presents the essays in a Socratic dialogue, where the characters are having s playful and whimsical conversation. The essay promotes Romanticism over Realism as Wilde’s view.
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray (1891) – This has been the only full-length novel from Wilde and had gone through a lot of scrutinies in his days, surviving them all to become a classic work of fiction.
  • Another Collection of Short Stories (1891) – A collection of short and semi-comic stories that included “Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime”, “The Sphinx Without a Secret”, “The Canterville Ghost” and “The Model Millionaire”.
  • Intentions (1891) – This was another collection of essays and featured a revised version of “The Decay of Lying”.
  • Salome (1891) – The play is about the Biblical story of Salome, who was the stepdaughter of the tetrarch Herod Antipas. She requests the head of Jokanaan on a silver platter as the reward for the dance of the seven veils.
  • The House of Pomegranates (1892) – Another collection of short stories featuring “The Birthday of the Infanta”, “The Young King”, “The Star-Child” and “The Fisherman and His Soul”.
  • Lady Windermere’s Fan (1892) – A four-act comedy that satirizes the morals of society.
  • A Woman of No Importance (1893) – A play that satirized the English upper-class society.
  • The Duchess of Padua (1893) – The Duchess of Padua was a five-act melodramatic tragedy set in Padua and was written in blank verse.
  • The Sphinx (1894) – The poem talks about the thousand weary centuries of history behind the Sphinx.
  • An Ideal Husband (1895) – It was a comedic play that revolved around blackmail and political corruption.
  • The Importance of Being Earnest (1895) – The play is a farcical comedy where the protagonists maintain fictitious personae and escape social obligations. The major themes of the play include the triviality with which institutions like marriage were treated in Victorian society.
  • De Profundis (1897) – It was a letter in whose first half Wilde recounts a previous relationship that had led to the conviction of Wilde and imprisonment. The second half talks about spiritual development in prison.
  • The Ballad of Reading Gaol (1898) – It was written during Wilde’s imprisonment. He was sentenced to two years of hard labor in prison after being convicted of homosexual offenses.

More Info On- Despair by Samuel ColeridgeThe Good, Great ManFaded FlowerPresence Of LoveSnow Flakes

Found info useful?