Home » Who were the British Prime Ministers under Queen Victoria?

Who were the British Prime Ministers under Queen Victoria?

Here is a complete list of British Prime Ministers during Victorian times.

William Lamb, Viscount Melbourne, 1835-1841 Party: Whig
Sir Robert Peel, 1841-1846 Party: Conservative
Lord John Russell, 1846-1852 Party: Whig
Edward Smith-Stanley, The Earl of Derby, 1852 Party: Conservative
George Hamilton-Gordon, Earl of Aberdeen, 1852-185 Party: Conservative
Viscount Palmerston, 1855-1858 Party: Whig
The Earl of Derby, 1858-1859 Party: Conservative
Henry John Temple, Viscount Palmerston, 1859-1865 Party: Whig
Lord John Russell, 1865-1866 Party: Whig
The Earl of Derby, 1866-1868 Party: Conservative
Benjamin Disraeli, 1868-1868  Party: Conservative
William Ewart Gladstone, 1868-1874 Party: Liberal
Benjamin Disraeli, 1874-1880 Party: Conservative
William Ewart Gladstone, 1880-1885 Party: Liberal
Robert Arthur Talbot Gascoyne-Cecil, Marquess of Salisbury, 1885-1886 Party: Conservative
William Ewart Gladstone, 1886-1886 Party: Liberal
Marquess of Salisbury, 1886-1892 Party: Conservative
William Ewart Gladstone, fifth Earl of Rosebery 1892-1894 Party: Liberal
Archibald Philip Primrose, The Earl of Rosebery, 1894-1895 Party: Liberal
Lord Salisbury, 1895-1902 Party: Conservative

Frequently Asked Questions about Victorian age British Prime Ministers

Question: Who was Queen Victoria’s first Prime Minister? Who was prime minister when Victoria became queen?

Answer: Lord Melbourne was Victoria’s first prime minister. Diarist Charles Greville has written ‘He treats her with unbounded respect’.

Question: How many Prime Ministers served under Queen Victoria? How many prime ministers did Queen Victoria see under her reign?

Answer: 20 prime ministers served under Queen Victoria. The complete list is given above.

More Info On- List of Prime Ministers of British, England, and UKVictorian-Era England & Life of Victorians

Found info useful?